UF Nuclear Engineering Team Wins the ANS Design Competition

Every year, the American Nuclear Society (ANS) holds a design competition to select the best Student design projects.  A panel of industry judges reviews the submitted projects and selects two undergraduate and two graduate teams to make oral presentations in front of a second panel of Judges at the society’s Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The team from the University of Florida won the 2013 graduate competition, ahead of the team from the University of Michigan. The Florida team, whose design project was “An Innovative Accident Tolerant UO2 Composite Fuel for Use in LWRs”,  was represented by graduate students Andrew Cartas, Danny Permar and Jitesh Kuntawala, with Professor James Tulenko as their graduate advisor.