MSE Alum Jason Griggs Honored with 2023 Wilmer Souder Award

Jason Griggs, Ph.D. wins 2023 Wilmer Souder AwardAlumnus Jason Griggs, Ph.D., FADM (Ph.D. MSE ’98), has been awarded the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) Wilmer Souder Award in Dental Materials. Dr. Griggs is a professor and associate dean for research in the School of Dentistry at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.  

Dr. Griggs is also the third MSE alumni to win the prestigious award, joining Ken Anusavice, D.M.D, Ph.D., FADM (Ph.D. MSE ’70) and Dr. Alvaro Della Bona, D.D.S, Ph.D., FADM (Ph.D. MSE ’01).  

“When I first heard that I had been selected for this award, I was really proud, and my ego swelled up for the few minutes it took me to find the listing of previous Souder award winners,” Dr. Griggs said. “Examining that list, I could see that I have a lot of work left to do to compare to the company I now find myself in. I’ll do my best the rest of my career to uphold that legacy.”  

First awarded in 1955, the prize honors Dr. Wilmer Souder, widely recognized as the “Father of Dental Materials Research” and the motivating force in establishing the Dental Section at the National Bureau of Standards. It is among the highest honors bestowed by the IADR and awarded to scientists who, through their research, bring about outstanding advances in dental health.  

Dr. Griggs’s research focuses on improving the strength of dental porcelain, developing test methods for ceramic fracture toughness measurements and rapid testing methods for dental implants. He served as vice president and president for the IADR Dallas Section and on the editorial boards for the Journal of Dental Research and Dental Materials.  

During his time as a UF student, Dr. Griggs worked with Bioglass inventor Larry Hench, Ph.D., and studied under Dr. Ken Anusavice and Jack Mecholsky, Ph.D.